Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Trust

The RNOH will remain the UK’s leading orthopaedic hospital, further enhancing its international profile for outstanding patient care, research and education

The Sarcoma Unit

Introduction
The RNOH is one of only two designated centres in the country which specialises in the care and treatment of patients who suffer from bone and soft tissue cancers. Treatment includes bespoke endo-prostheses, bone transportation and bone grafting and the RNOH are leaders in limb salvage. Surgeons at the RNOH work with a team of oncologists and other specialists including the on-site Biomedical Engineering Unit, in providing a specially tailored package of care for each patient including surgical investigation, radiotherapy and chemotherapy.

Range of Services
The services offered include:

  • Surgical excision of tumours
  • Limb salvage (an alternative to amputation - the limb is saved and prosthetics are used to replace the diseased part.)
  • Massive replacement - the replacement of the major proportion of the cancer affected limb using custom made prostheses
  • Amputation

Consultant Surgeons
Professor Tim Briggs
Mr Will Aston
Mr John Skinner
Mr Rob Pollock

Referrals
Referrals can be received from GPs or hospital doctors. For further information on how to refer, please contact the Sarcoma MDT Office on 020 8909 5112 or alternatively, please complete one of the following forms:
GP referral form / Tertiary referral form.

Key Contacts
Veronica White, Secretary to Prof Briggs 020 8909 5573 veronica.white@rnoh.nhs.uk
Jane Moody, Secretary to Mr Aston 020 8909 5619 jane.moody@rnoh.nhs.uk
Jan Blue, Secretary to Mr Pollock and Dr Dileo 020 8909 5677 jan.blue@rnoh.nhs.uk
Nicky Saunders, Secretary to Mr Skinner 0208 909 5621 nicola.saunders@rnoh.nhs.uk
Julie Woodford, Nurse Consultant in Cancer and Supportive Care 07887 652 048 julie.woodford@rnoh.nhs.uk
Jo Coleman, Clinical Nurse Specialist 07799 142 066 joanne.coleman@rnoh.nhs.uk
Nicki Willis, Clinical Nurse Specialist 07920 295 206 nicola.willis@rnoh.nhs.uk
Louise Gillings, Clinical Nurse Specialist 0208 954 2300 louise.gillings@rnoh.nhs.uk
Hannah Baldwin, Clinical Nurse Specialist (children and young adults) 07554 330 838 hannah.baldwin@rnoh.nhs.uk

Useful documents:Size
GP referral form 86.5 KB
Tertiary referral form 253 KB
How helpful did you find this page?
Not helpful
Very helpful *
Required fields *
Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital Trust